First time visitors to Watchung Valley are often struck by the club’s unique red and white pennants. These pennants are an inimitable part of the club’s history and pay homage to Park Golf Club, the precursor to today’s Watchung Valley Golf Club. (For more, see the Club History
In 1889, the Park Club of Plainfield was founded in what is today North Plainfield. The social club offered various recreational pursuits such as tennis, bowling, and card-playing. As the golf craze swept the country in the late 1890’s a group of Park Club members set up an affiliate club, Park Golf Club, in 1898. Tom Bendelow designed a 9-hole layout at the foot of the First Watchung Mountain on the estate of Louis K. Hyde. The clubhouse was perched atop the ridgeline,where the club flew a massive red and white pennant sporting a stylized club monogram.